I don’t know a lot about politics, and I know less than I should about religion.  Recently, I am aware that a concert in Paris was under attack, and the phrase “terrorist attack” is being used.  I am not suggesting that it wasn’t; I am honestly showing my ignorance because I often avoid reading confrontational headlines.  I typically choose my safe, bubble wrapped world because if I stepped out into the real thing, my heart would explode.

In my devotion tonight, this was the scripture assigned:

 

 

I am by no means an expert.  I don’t have any answers.   I recognize that it is extremely easy to get caught up in the constant debates of political and religious warfare, but I also know my God well enough to understand that His message was about love.  Not hate.  Not wrongdoings.  Not revenge.  Not self.  Not fear.  Not a silly red coffee cup either.  His message was love, sacrifice, and forgiveness.

Love thy neighbor.  Despite favoritism, partiality, socioeconomic status, religious background, cultural identify, race affiliation, literacy level, age, or gender, love thy neighbor.

There is no right or wrong answer, but what an awesome thought, to respond in love.  How would our struggles, our hardships, our reasoning be impacted if our first reaction and initial thought was love?  Our own words and thoughts would change drastically.

The encouraged prayer focus was for neighbors in conflict so praying for America seemed appropriate. Our own personal conflict about how to respond in this moment is huge, and it’s clearly dividing us, Christians included.  Responding in love is not easy, but what a great thought.

Leave a Reply

