It’s extremely cheesy (I’m talking mozzarella) to post the lyrics to a song.  I feel like I’m writing a letter to a crush or posting on myspace.  However, every single time I hear the song below, it blows my mind all over again.  Jenn Freeland aka Freefree aka my bff (is this myspace?) introduced me to the song because of my love for all things Meghan Trainor.  What a beautiful song.  What a beautiful message.  And the mind blowing part is the way the song covers all relationships, not just the lover relationship.  I held my daughter close today as we danced to this song.  She wants me to dip her repeatedly, and I find myself complying because it’s true: we’re not promised tomorrow.  And if my tomorrow doesn’t come, I want my girls to know that I took the time to dip them back romantically as we swayed to a slow song in the doorway.  I want them to remember the Spanish accent of my version of Skippyjon Jones as we read it aloud.  I want them to hold on to the songs we sing at night, even if it’s Christmas carols in the middle of August or silly versions of me forgetting the lyrics of Are You Sleeping.  I want them to know how fiercely they are loved yesterday, today, and every day moving forward whether I am beside them whispering it in their ear or watching them from afar.  They are loved passionately with respect and admiration and sheer astonishment because they are precious.  I will love them everyday as if it is my last opportunity.  I will discipline and educate them too, because real love allows for those moments as well.  But above all things, I will love.

I found myself dreaming
In silver and gold
Like a scene from a movie
That every broken heart knows we were walking on moonlight
And you pulled me close
Split second and you disappeared and then I was all alone

I woke up in tears
With you by my side
A breath of relief
And I realized
No, we’re not promised tomorrow

So I’m gonna love you
Like I’m gonna lose you
I’m gonna hold you
Like I’m saying goodbye wherever we’re standing
I won’t take you for granted ’cause we’ll never know when
When we’ll run out of time so I’m gonna love you
Like I’m gonna lose you
I’m gonna love you like I’m gonna lose you

In the blink of an eye
Just a whisper of smoke
You could lose everything
The truth is you never know so I’ll kiss you longer baby
Any chance that I get
I’ll make the most of the minutes and love with no regrets

Let’s take our time
To say what we want
Use what we got
Before it’s all gone
‘Cause no, we’re not promised tomorrow

So I’m gonna love you
Like I’m gonna lose you
I’m gonna hold you
Like I’m saying goodbye wherever we’re standing
I won’t take you for granted ’cause we’ll never know when
When we’ll run out of time so I’m gonna love you
Like I’m gonna lose you
I’m gonna love you like I’m gonna lose you

IMG_20150718_175225 20150717_193930

Leave a Reply

